Affordable Computer Upgrades for Windows 10 Intel i3 4100?

thek8ikat

Hello. Not sure if this is the best place to ask for help about this, but I was hoping someone here would be able to halp. I'm somewhat new to computer gaming and I've still never had a graphics card or anything fancy like that. While I don't need to go all out with extreme ENBs, it would be nice to try some graphics-enhancing mods more intensive than I'm able to use with integrated graphics. Oh, and I'm talking about Skyrim (non-Special edition). I've just seen many graphics cards that could potentially bottleneck an i3, apparently, and that may not be compatible with Windows 10.

Here are my specs. Thank you!
image.thumb.png.dc9c209d2d78e58765c91d0c05f15bd6.png

image.thumb.png.267031c2488fe10865362a6e21981fcc.png

Are you planning on keeping that CPU for awhile, or is there an upgrade for it on the horizon too?

If you're standing pat as long as possible, a GTX-1050ti is probably gonna be as powerful as you want to go.

If you think you're gonna upgrade the CPU in the next year or so, a GTX-1060 is more your speed. Some bottlenecking now, but more room to step it up with a new CPU. I will say the 6Gb option of the 1060 might make it a better choice either way, Skyrim is a vram whore.

Since I assume you've been gaming on the integrated graphics, either option is going to be leaps and bounds better.