I want to upgrade my computer but I need advice

Hi everyone,

I was reinstalling Skyrim and added quite a few mods with HD textures replacers, an ENB, 3 or 4 mods with scripts and I wasn't surprised my computer had some difficulty to make Skyrim have some decent FPS.

I'm going to get my 200GB SSD but I think the problem lies with the graphic card.

My graphic card isn't that bad, but it's not good enough either it seems, even if my Skyrim is not heavily modded like some of you here :D

Here are my specs :

Processor : AMD Phenom II X4 840

Speed :  3.2 GHz

Video Card : AMD Radeon HD 6700 Series

Dedicated Memory : 1.0 GB

Total Memory : 4.0 GB

Memory : 8.2 GB

Operating System : Microsoft Windows 7 Professional Edition Service Pack 1, 64-bit Professional Edition

I thought of getting a Nvidia card because they are better imho, however I've just noticed I got a freaking AMD processor... I'm a noob as far as it concerns computer material so do you think I might be able to get a Nvidia graphic card or am I stuck with AMD unless I change the processor too?

As for my budget I'd say around 350€ / 400€ max should be enough to get a decent card to play Skyrim modded. I usually play games that don't require an amazing spec. ^^

Thanks in advance to those who will help !

We do need the specs of your PSU, otherwise you may need an upgrade for that as well. Most High end cards require about 550w minimum with a high amperage on a strong 12v rail.

There is a much wider variation than you'd expect there, it all comes down to that 12v. A GTX980 draws ~200w, but getting a supply with that much on the 12v, you need to pay attention. A seasonic SS-400FL can provide the full 400w on the 12v rail. More than enough to run that card and a 'normal' load of CPU and a few drives.

I'm a big fan of their modular supplies.

By comparison, a 500w "diablotek" (which costs 1/4 as much) can only provide 204w on the 12v rail -- not enough to run the card with anything else.