"If the music is too loud, you're too YOUNG." A treatise on the state of children today.

Monsto Brukes

You know how you'll be mindin your own business and you find yourself hummin a song you haven't thought of in a while? Next thing you know, it's bouncin around in your head for like a week. Nevermind if it's a good or a bad song, humming any song for a several days in a row is just too much. So my cure for this, and it works well, is to find the song on youtube and listen to the whole thing. It just gets it unstuck and your head can move on.

For the past few days I've had Billy Squier "The Stroke" runnin thru my head. (Yes I'm old. so fucking what.) I went and listened to it. In doing so I was reminded just how ROCK FUCKING SOLID dudes vocals were. Every fucking hit he had was an anthem. Period. In the same session, I decided to play a couple other songs. I started playing Lonely Is the Night. There's a pretty guitar intro, but after that the song demands to be turned up to 11.

So I did as the song requested and gave it more power. 11 was requested and 11 it shall be.

A couple minutes later my 13 yo daughter walks downstairs to the basement and into my office givin me that "wtf is wrong with you" look.

And here's our conversation. 

me "This, hon, is what they call 'rockin' "
her "That's not rockin." then she said somethin about her music. I mean K/J-pop is ok and all, but you cannot rock to something that sounds like a bag of candy would sound if it could talk.
me "WRONG. THIS... is rockin."

She stood there a couple seconds. . . 

her "Can you turn it down? It's just too loud." . . . I seethed in disgust.
me  "WRONG AGAIN. It is not too loud. Matter of fact, I'd turn it up more if i wasn't skeered of blowin the speakers."
her "DUDE it's shaking the whole upstairs!"
me "GOOD! That's the way it's supposed to work! You're lucky I don't break windows with it."

she rolled her eyes and left.

Couple mins later, my 11 yo comes in "WHAT ARE YOU DOIN!"