A Consumer's Musings About Modding

Hi. I'm a lurker that occasionally makes a post. I'm on the consumer end of modding. I have no knowledge of how the construction side works. And a recent modder departure from the Skyrim section has gotten me thinking about modding - both in relation to Lover'sLab and in general - because people like me were explicitly called out. None of this has any real rhyme or reason, it's just a collection of musings that I wanted to share.

Advertisement
When I look for a mod, I tap into my very particular tastes. Naturally, that requires a mod's download page to properly advertise itself. A concise and to-the-point description that fills me in on what the mod offers, screenshots to show me what's on offer (because what a reader sees in their head doesn't always equate to the actual product), and - if there's a risk of spoilers - just enough of a tease that it gets me hooked enough to want to know more.
Naturally, you see plenty of this kind of thing on Nexus. But I've found that, on LL, for every mod page I personally find that lives up to that standard, there are at least two more that fall short in one or both ways. Often a mod will have no pics when it easily could, or the screenshots for something like a new player home will be lacking, or its description is next to nothing or literally nothing or mostly technical jargon (though that last one it rare and is mostly reserved for stuff that aims to act as both new content and a framework). Sometimes I don't even see any tags! Like, at the very least, have the courtesy of tagging your mod!