Well, here we go again...

Edit: TLDR my Sims lost autonomy and stood around doing nothing. Uninstalled KW 409 and it fixed the game. Reinstalled KW and things are working again for now.

Now I remember why I only play for a month and then take five years off. Some game breaking bug suddenly appears out of nowhere and I spend days troubleshooting and eventually just say "FUCK. THIS. GAME." and give up.

This has happened three times  since I started playing again and it's really making the whole experience unenjoyable and completely frustrating.

What is happening this time is that free will/autonomy just seems to break. My sims just stand there doing nothing while their needs go completely red. They still have thought bubbles and they occasionally move a few feet one way or the other.

I tried just watching for a whole sim day and eventually they will go to the bathroom or make a meal, but only long after those needs are totally in the red. Then after they're done they go back to doing nothing. Like after my starving sim (who was also filthy, exhausted, etc...) finally made and ate a meal, she just sat there in the chair forever. They will answer the phone when it rings, and they'll talk but after they hang up they go back to acting like zombies.

So I thought I would check out the rest of town and everyone is doing the same thing. Every household, everyone at a public lot, all the Sims in town stand around doing nothing. No one is doing any activity or socializing. It's like that if I just observe other sims while controlling one family and using Master Controller to open other houses, or if I switch to another family.

I run the usual suite of Nrass stuff like everyone else and nothing I do fixes the problem. I tried resetting the whole town and that did nothing. I moved back to an old save from a few days earlier and the issue reappeared after three sim days. I started a completely new game and in a few sim weeks the same shit happened.