Equipping NPCs with created weapons

Hey, folks, I've been reworking my first Skyrim mod almost from the time I released it this morning, and I'm trying to equip enemy NPCs with copies of vanilla weapons that I enchanted with a custom enchantment. I also reworked the values of the poison to work with other mods.

Two problems with the rework effort: the custom enchanted weapons aren't showing up, and the poison that I created in the first mod is missing from the enemies' inventories.

To rework the mod, I started a completely separate file from the original (I don't know if this is relevant).

I have no clue what went wrong since I am just learning this stuff.

I tried to search for the poison in the console, and nothing came up.

I placed the custom enchanted weapons in the enemies' inventories, because I don't know how to make them equip weapons.

HELP!

P.S. I searched for tutorials on this, but I've come up empty-handed.

Guest xthejester

You need to make your custom items a master file. (.esm), then load them up in the ck with the other .esm files like Skyrim, Update, Dawnguard, etc.

No, you don't need to put them in an esm. If the don't even show up when searching via the console then the mod is not active for whatever reason as they should show up there no matter what. If you are adding items directly to the inventory of npc's any mod that is loaded after it that changes that npc will overwrite it. You are better off adding the items to the leveled lists, you can add items to bandits and such much faster that way. If you have any other mods that add items to leveled lists use wrye bash's bashed patch, just make sure to add the 'relev' tag to your mod in wrye bash or you have to add it to the patch manually. 

Guest xthejester

So if I wanted to make an NPC be the only person in Skyrim wearing a set of custom armor...I wouldn't need to make that custom armor mod into an ESM?  Because I know you do if you want to use custom hair and the like.