3ds Max 2014 Armor Editing Help

Alright, first off I'd like to say that I'm very new to 3ds Max, but I'm trying to learn it slowly. Now, I tried deleting part of a mesh in Max, and then exporting it to a .nif using the Nif Exporter Plugin for 2013. It looked fine when I opened it in Outfit Studio and Nifskope, but this is what happens in game:

post-332589-0-72001000-1393041888_thumb.jpg

What am I doing wrong?

Ok. Id like to say this, try using 2012 if you can. Its used by most, and Nightasty uses it for his tutorials, plus has alot of plugins. And for your "problem". 

I think you rigged it wrong, it looks like your were sliding it around in max. Don't do that. make sure to only move a few vertices at a time, not the entire item. 

Also, only edit it as a "Editable Poly", and after that, you have to turn it back to an "Editable Mesh", then set up a smooth modifier, then a Skin wrap, convert to as skin, then add BSDismember Property, and export as .nif. Then, you have to set up the BSLightingShader property, set BS UV Set Number from 1 to 4097 in NiTriShapeData, and update Tangent Space in NiTriShape>mesh. 

Ok. Id like to say this, try using 2012 if you can. Its used by most, and Nightasty uses it for his tutorials, plus has alot of plugins. And for your "problem". 

I think you rigged it wrong, it looks like your were sliding it around in max. Don't do that. make sure to only move a few vertices at a time, not the entire item. 

Also, only edit it as a "Editable Poly", and after that, you have to turn it back to an "Editable Mesh", then set up a smooth modifier, then a Skin wrap, convert to as skin, then add BSDismember Property, and export as .nif. Then, you have to set up the BSLightingShader property, set BS UV Set Number from 1 to 4097 in NiTriShapeData, and update Tangent Space in NiTriShape>mesh. 

That sounds way over my head.

That sounds way over my head.

it's not as a bad as it sounds, just keep practicing. It's just painfully boring.