Mod Merging Advice Requested

mahoutsukai

So, I am trying to make a merged mod of RS "Populated..." Series, and there is a difficulty - the mods contain Face Gen data that is not merged properly - As I am new to this process, could someone help me out and give me an outline of how to properly merge mods containing external assets (facegen, textures...).

Any help is appreciated, and thanks.

The "Populated..." Series (found here: http://erkeilmods.altervista.org/skyrim/populated-forts-towers-places-rs/) add multiple generic NPCs to various areas of Skyrim, without using scripts. These NPCs are generic assets, and inherit traits, spells, etc. that alter vanilla assets, so it is compatible with almost any mod. However, the face's are unique to each NPC, so that you don't run into the same face in Riften, then Markarth. 

I have used this guide ( http://forums.nexusmods.com/index.php?/topic/904953-how-to-merge-multiple-mods-with-multiple-master-files/) before, to merge other mods. When I try the same method using the "Populated..." series, I run into an issue where the NPCs vanish, or suffer from missing textures. From what I can tell, it seems that the merged mod fails to carry over the internal assets (facegen data, textures, etc) or it renames them, or something else...

I was hoping that someone could help me with how to go about merging mods in a more... advanced way, than the one outlined above. When I used that method before, it was merging a perk mod that was modular, so that it only had one .esp, instead of one for each skill. But it added nothing to the game (new spells, leveled list changes, NPCs, etc) and so it went smoothly. But this merge would merge so much more (facegen data, assigned voice sets, routines, actor inventory, etc...) and I just failed at it.

Hope that clears up what I was asking. Thanks.