Brotherhood of Steel

I am fairly new to the Fallout series and I have a lot of conflicting opinions about the Brotherhood. The Brotherhood in the Capital Wasteland (Fallout 3) seemed like cool people. Granting you Power Armor training right off the bat, assisting with various tasks... they really seemed like cool people. Whereas the Brotherhood in the Mojave Wasteland (Fallout New Vegas) seemed like assholes. Stripping you of your gear, putting an explosive collar on ya, refusing further assistance if you've already had Power Armor Training. Which is understandable what with being in war with the NCR but still... And then there's Elijah in Dead Money DLC. I know it's not fair to point at the mad men to draw your conclusions of what may very well be an entire society. From where I stand, it seems like the Brotherhood in Mojave Wasteland seem like off-shoots. They were kinda like the Enclave but not quite.

I'm asking because I don't have the previous games and if anyone played them and have more insight into this quasi-religious organization, as described in wiki, they might be willing to share.

What I want to know is: Would The Brotherhood really be so zealous as to deny themselves the chance to survive just a little longer so they can protect humanity? I know they're supposed they see themselves as guardian of human kind, but that guardian dies who will protect humanity? And if that happened who might, really?

No, you've got it backwards.

The FO3 BoS are the offshoots. The Brotherhood of Steel was never meant to be this "Knights in Shining Armor" crap Bethesda fed us with FO3. Granted, in FO1-2, they weren't really "asssholes", they were just insular, narrow minded technological zealots, with a singular purpose of preserving, hoarding and limiting access to technology. That's what the BoS are all about.