Looking for script advice please

Please may I beg some advice?

I'm a newbie modder, and I'm adding a custom animation to my mod. I've run the animation side through FNIS for Modders and generated the folders and documents successfully. So I have my file structure ready and I've built my ESP with quest, alias, effect and spell etc.   I intend to deliver the animation by casting a spell.

And that's where my brain freezes.  I'm still learning to script and Fore's detailed document is kind of overwhelming me. The information is there, but I'm unable to see it.

I've two animations: call them Player and Victim (no spoilers yet!), and they're simple idles for Player and target NPC.

Currently my FNIS_List has them as

b a Player
b a Victim

And I'm looking at AnimEvent in scripting - but that's where I just need advice on the project.   How do I script the spell so the animation is fired?

Right now, as a learner, I simply want to fire the spell in game and see how the event plays out. It doesn't matter if the animation is a mess, I can worry about adding bells and whistles as I learn.

Might someone kindly drop me a hint on identifying the animations in the script, and calling them to the spell cast?  It's probably only 2 or 3 lines but I'm going around in circles...

Thank you!

12 minutes ago, Bluegunk said:

Right now, as a learner, I simply want to fire the spell in game and see how the event plays out. It doesn't matter if the animation is a mess, I can worry about adding bells and whistles as I learn.

Might someone kindly drop me a hint on identifying the animations in the script, and calling them to the spell cast?  It's probably only 2 or 3 lines but I'm going around in circles...

Thank you!

Had a discussion about something similar a few days back.  Info in here might help.

OK, well I am still stuck.  Seijin8's support was a massive help and I learnt a lot - but it still kind of skips over what I'm trying to learn.