Absolute Beginner's Guide for Adding Stencils & Overlays in Sims 3

Absolute Beginner's Guide

Making modifications to Sims 3 garments

Actual Modifications to the Sims3pack/Package

Adding Stencils & Overlays

This document is intended to get your feet wet with TRSW by Creating and applying a Stencil using your Graphics’ Editor. It does not attempt to show mesh alterations. It is designed for the Absolute Beginner. Who would like to make a unique creation but not get into the nuts & bolts of the Mesh.

You will need:

1.      TSRW: found at https://www.thesimsresource.com/workshop/

2.      Graphics Editor: https://www.gimp.org/downloads/

What you DO NOT Need:

3.      Sims3Pack File Generate Tool: For converting to and from Sims3pack.https://modthesims.info/d/473766/sims3pack-file-generate-tool-package-to-sims3pack-8-27-2012-update-to-v1-4-1-36.html

4.      Meshing Toolkit: Not needed. For fixing this on Mesh https://modthesims.info/d/481950/meshing-toolkit-version-1-4-9-uploaded-12-20-2018.html

5.      A 3D mesh Editor like Milkshape or Blender.

Your Graphics Editor needs the ability to save as a DDS file so look for a Plug-in if it doesn’t.

If you’re the average person – you don’t change much on EA or CC garments, except what Color Channels are offered in CAS to change the Pattern.  There is no way to move or change the pattern size in CAS. In the last installment I showed how to add a color channel on a standard 3-color channel garment and how to scale the pattern and position to a particular point.

This installment focuses on probably the simplest customization of a garment – Adding a Stencil Overlay.

I’ll show you:

·         How to create a simple OVERLAY.

·         Using the OVERLAY as an Overlay and/or Stencil.

Making a CLONE of the garment you want to change:

The first thing you need to do is clone your garment. Any change to a package will need new internal numbering and TSRW does that for you.