Modding help.

Kelpie

I've looked through some of the mods for clothing/armor looking for a really simple mod that removes the pants from the female version of the college robes, ragged robe, and prisoner clothing (personally I think the robes are more like tunics if they have pants underneath) but no one has made such a simple mod. I downloaded nifskope and blender but I can't figure out how to use them at all. I looked at several tutorials but still can't get it to do much. Can someone help me out? Tell me what to do, point me to a good tutorial, or by just doing it if you don't want to deal with my ignorance. :P I am new to all of this.

Were all pretty new with skyrim, and the construction kit just being released, I wish I could help you, but I have not probed Skyrim enough to be confident of what I know about the textures and .nif files yet.

The version of Nifskope I have is still pretty beta looking, I can open the models and manage some stuff in them, but Not as well as I would like.

I have been concentrating on the dialog, mostly right now, which seems to have some bugs in it. But it could be my understanding as well.

There were a lot of clothing mods Out you might find what you want already available.

That said if the clothing has separate branches for the upper, and lower clothing parts it should be easy enough to remove the lower clothing branch, and save the original Nif file first, then renaming your new nif to the original Nif name.

However if they are 2 separate Nif files one for the pants and one for the top, you might have to exchange the pants for the lower body parts of a female. or make a new nif file of the lower body parts of a female, and make that the nif file for the pants in the construction kit.

Many ways to do it. but will take some trial and error I am sure. so always back up something before you change it.