How Hdt Physics Extensions Works For Users (Please Correct Me If I'm Wrong) Now With Pictures

Abinath

This is not a guide or tutorial. Just information. I'm not an expert. I didnt make the plugin/mod. I just learnt this from reading about it on several different threads and from experience with using and tweaking it.

What is HDT physics Extensions?

HDT Physics Extensions is a plugin/mod for Skyrim that uses the havok engine and Skyrim script extender. To apply customizable physics to meshes including clothes, armors, hair, bodies etc. The customizations are based on a .xml file called HDTPhysicsExtensionsDefaultBBP.xml.

What are .xml files for HDT Physics Extensions?

.xml files are what HDT Physics Extensions use to determine how and what physics to apply to relevant meshes. The files themselves contain bone nodes and constraint information.

• More about Bone nodes

vdcpit.jpg

Bone nodes are set places on a skeleton i.e left breast, left hand, right hand, right breast etc. The .xml file gives the Bone nodes weight, a shape(their hitbox) and tells them what to collide with. 

• More on constraints

et894i.jpg

Constraints are how the nodes react to physics i.e how they bounce, jiggle etc.

How HDT Physics Extensions applies physics

Hdt Physics Extensions applies physics to meshes based on skeletal movement thats why more abrupt movement i.e jumping, crouching causes more bounce and jiggle etc. then what slight movements do. The skeletal movements are based on what animation is being played. If one of the meshes on a body i.e a body mesh, hands mesh or feet mesh is attached to a .xml. HDT Physics Extensions will also handle collisions of bone nodes. Based on the configurable shape of a bone node in the .xml. 

1zbw4qv.jpg

Why so many requirements?