Help, new to modding

dokurochan07

Well, im new to the oblivion mods, i watched a few youtube vids and I was really excited to create a character like the ones showed in the vids of fingingfeces, so i donwloaded oblivion, a lot of mods and spent almost 2 days trying to realize how to apply the mods (i take a bunch of mods from a thread created in this forum that was a help for a newbie) the problem is i have one interesting problem, the data folder in my oblivion game, doest have textures, meshes or anything folders, its just a bunch of files with the BSA extension, how can i get the folders to show or should i create them? extract the things inside each of this files, or just donwload a new game. Thanks for reading guys and i hope to spent a long time in this comunity!

Game of the year edition and all following versions of the game don't use folders any more, instead they're using .bsa archives. The only difference is that you'll have to create an Archive Invalidation file, other than that you just copy textures/meshes folders and .esm/.esp files to the Data folder.

If you're unfamiliar with Archive Invalidation (since you're new to modding I assume you are) I suggest you use the Archive Invalidation feature in OBMM (Oblivion Mod Manager). Download OBMM (either from Tesnexus or just do a Google search for it) and install it as is described in the ReadMe. Run it and click the utilities button, then Archive Invalidation, this will open a new, smaller window. In this, select the following settings:

Mode: BSA Alteration

File types to include: Select All.

Other Options: Generate Archive Invalidation entries on hash collision.

Then click "Update Now".

I've also selected "Autoupdate on Exit", as this will update the Archive Invalidation file each time you close OBMM. I only install mods with OBMM, so this is quite useful for me. If you want a full explanation of what the different settings do, click HERE.

Let me know if you have any further questions ;)

Regards,