Overclocking CPU by 500MHz for Skyrim Performance (safe?)

afro-herbalist

I'm already pretty comfortable with overclocking my HD4870 1GB, because its a pretty simple process, and I've never really had any problems with it. Although I DID once overclock to the max for Skyrim, but forgot to lock the fan at 100% speed, then ran the game at maxed out settings. Within two hours, I was starting to see weird artifacts like little red squares, green blotches, and strange geometry spikes. I checked the temp of my card, and it was just above 90*C. I know thats a lot, but I've thats quite normal for this card, however it still worries me. How can such a high temperature be normal!? I even get temps of 70* when my computer is idling, as in displaying nothing more than the desktop, but thats another story.

So with that, I was just wondering if anyone could give me any helpful/constructive advice in regards to overclocking my CPU, which Im NOT too confident about, since I've never done it before, and I dont want to fry it.

I dont know how long, OR how far its safe to overclock CPU's by. I was thinking just an extra 500MHz maybe, but this isn't my field.

All I want is to minimise lag in Skyrim, and I've read that the shadows/lighting system is actually handled by the CPU instead of the GPU for some reason, so clocking my CPU seems to be the answer. The performance enhancing mods dont make a lick of difference (one even made it worse) and I dont have £400 to splash on another ridiculously expensive upgrade, amounting to a ridiculously shortlived period of being upto-date. I might be futureproof for like 2 months, max, then have to spend another £200 on top. (the one thing I hate about PC's lol). So right now, overclocking seems to be my only option, but if its known to be less stable/safe than overclocking your GFX card, then I think I'll give it a miss.

My H/W specs are:-

-XFX Radeon HD4870 1GB

-4GB of RAM (knocked down to 3.12 thanks to XP 32bit)