Why does anyone trust BethINI?

So, against my better judgement, i gave the much recommended BethINI a try (backuping my INIs first, obviously). Why "against my better judgement"? Well, because i don't change INI-settings, without doing the research and RTFM first - and since i'm a dev myself, i understand the technical backgrounds, so given the right information, i know what i'm doing. So with that in mind: What could a tool like BethINI do better, than my own brain and homework? I never tried it before for that reason, discounting it as a tool for "noobs" (which isn't a bad thing per se: For those who want more control than the ingame settings, yet aren't technical experts, such a tool would have it's purpose.)

Still, today i gave it a try just out of curiousity... and my prejudices weren't just confirmed, but exceeded: BethINI is outrightly malicious.

Why? You know how there's a lot of INI-settings, that don't actually do anything? And there's settings that can break stuff, if you don't know what you're doing? Beth-INI does not distinguish between the two. In a nutshell: Any setting the bethINI-author does not like, he will simply claim that it does nothing, and remove it from your config! You heard correctly: BethINI is pure dogmatism - if the author doesn't like something, you're not permitted to have it in your ini. You're not even asked about removal.