DirectX 9 Video Ram Under Windows 10 Fixed!

Slammer64

Just an FYI, since I'm a Sysadmin, I installed the Fall Creator Update for testing out on my network, I thought, what the hell, since it's my laptop I'll run Boris's VRAM tester and see if anything changed. Lo, and behold, I am reading the full memory of my graphics card in excess of the 4 Gig limit that was there previously, VRamSizeDX9 shows 8224MB available! Check it for yourself, you can get VRamSizeDX9 on the enbdev.com download section, post your results here!

It should help with reducing crashes due to running out of video memory.

@tuxagent7, here's the memory portion of my enblocal.ini

[MEMORY]
ExpandSystemMemoryX64=false
ReduceSystemMemoryUsage=true
DisableDriverMemoryManager=false
DisablePreloadToVRAM=false
EnableUnsafeMemoryHacks=false
ReservedMemorySizeMb=512
VideoMemorySizeMb=28209
EnableCompression=false
AutodetectVideoMemorySize=false

Mine reads 40768, but isn't there a 10240 cap? I'm really confused about the exact number to put under VideoMemorySizeMB. I'd like to just put the same number I got from the dx9 test tool (40768) and be done with it. Before the fall update, it was 4064, of course, and that was the number I had in there for as long as I can remember.

Yeah I just opted out of Insider because I don't need it anymore lol

Something related, it's weird but I've found the most luck putting ReservedMemorySizeMb= something low.  On mine it's at ReservedMemorySizeMb=64 and seems to work better than ever.  I used to use 512 and this works better (for me).  If anyone feels like giving that a try, I'd love to hear if it's better or worse than 512.

In enblocal: VideoMemorySizeMb=? Set your memory to whatever it shows minus 170...

I think, on Windows 10, you're supposed to just use the provided number.

http://wiki.step-project.com/Guide:ENBlocal_INI/Memory