Converting Wigs to Hair

cobme

Hello! I wish to convert several wig meshes to have them act as hair in my game, I'm sorry if this was explained in earlier\other threads but I couldn't find anything that answers my issue. 

All I came across in my search was this -  

http://www.loverslab.com/topic/20804-converting-wigs-to-hair/?do=findComment&comment=493265

And it did not help me much as my knowledge in modelling is very limited, and it is too succinct for someone as clueless as me (yeah I'm an utter noob).

I attached 2 meshes as an example of what I'm trying to convert into hair, I think they contain unnecessary branches and even multiples of the same hair branch but I may be wrong.

As to the process of the converting itself - I have no idea what to do...

I tried to simply use the meshes as they are in the CS as hair and it is invisible on my character, it may be floating because the object center is wrong, I believe. But I couldn't see it (the hair) in my game at all... 

braids brown.nif

kikyo brown.nif

...utter noob,eh? Well, I may not be a pro, but ive got some ideas.

first , get nifskope, if you haven't already, a wonderful easy to use tool for any level of modder

open up the mesh with it, click on the hair,

file> export>export .obj ,

open another mesh (preferably one with a scene root, heck open a hair mesh just to be sure) delete everything but the scene root,

click on the scene root,

File import>import object> the one you just made,

go back to original mesh>select the hair> click the arrow next to it> go down to texturingProperty> right click copy branch

go to new mesh>right click on the hair> paste branch

right click on new hair> transform>edit (use this to move the mesh around by changing the numbers so that it lines up with other hairs... actualy maybe you may want to paste some hair that is properly placed back into scene root, to use as example before deleting it when your done)

x out of edit> right click your new hair> apply