IGNORED

2 Important questions about installation

ssjkirby

1.So, in the guides, it says to put things in a certaian load order and at the top of the list is Oblivion.esm, would this be the same.esm file in the data folder? So I'm basically putting the esm/esp folders in order under that file right?

2.Is there a 100% noobs guide for this? I have No real experience in installing mods, so I'm mostly learning and winging it.

If this is your first experience using any mods, or even looking inside the oblivion folder, you've kinda jumped in at the deep end. The mods you find here usually come with several requirements and usually not the best documentation.

The best advice I can give you is to start things slowly. Get a basic understanding of how to install and manage your mods. A good place to start would be:

http://www.uesp.net/wiki/Tes4Mod:Mods

To manage your load order, you need a mod manager program. OBMM is the most used one, and will suffice for simple mods. Once you get to things like overhaul mods, Wrye Bash will help to resolve mod conflicts and more. But it's a more complicated program, which will take some time to get familiar with.

Once you have OBMM up and running, I'd start with putting in some simple mods and some basic must have mods such as body replacers. You'll want those anyway before you start messing around with things like Lovers. Try looking at Nexus top 100 list to get an idea of what a lot of people are using. It'll also help you get a better understanding of how to install everything.

Thanks for the site, definitely helpful and by the way, do I have to play through the game to a certain amount before I can install lovers?

P.S. I guess I'm not 100% new, maybe 90-85, but I have already downloaded OBMM

P.S.S. Where exactly do I put patch files? It's been a while but you put the files in their corresponding folder under the data section right?

esp/esm files and meshes/textures/sounds folders all go directly into the data folder.