3DS Max/Oblivion animation Bip01 issues

Teechan

Hi folks.

My goal is to get some advice on moving animations in Oblivion using 3DSMax (2010) - because honestly? I'm a stumped newbie, and having a hard time finding info on this. I'm using Figment's version of the Niftools exporter fromt the Nexus.

My goal is to have more control recording npc actor fight scenes for videos. I fgured it would be easier to play short sequences as idles rather then slow down time/take multiple shots of npcs in combat.  Importing .kf's one at a time gets buggy if you're not careful (as bones/meshes tends to glitch on import, resulting with feet coming out of your model's head.) So, still pretty much teaching myself this stuff from the ground up, I turned to saving each movement animation (walkforward, walkfastforward, ect) as .xaf's. I'm also learning more about NifSkope, and bla bla bla. :P

This is my sample animation - imported a walkforward kf, loaded a walkforward xaf after that, added a walkfastforward xaf, and a forward dodge xaf (which came in rotated) as a test.

The export comes out well in game, but they "run in place".

Following the "How to Fix Your Animation" article on the Nexus Wiki,  I understand that to make movement animations one needs to animate the Bip01 bone.

It's walking in y axis, the same way the armature was facing. I even tried rotating and exporting 90 degrees, resulted in the character turning and running in place. ;D I changed text keys to read "forward", but nothing really changed.

So..anyone have any pointers that I may have missed?

post-16569-0-90378100-1365899604_thumb.jpg

For normal looping animations you would have a start at frame one (1/start) and then an end at the last frame of the animation, lets say sixty in this case (60/end).