HOW TO UPDATE SKYRIM? WTF???

ok i'm new to the skyrim installing and updating, i usually don't go for Steam information or Steam supported Games as they are set up for those that have an active internet connection and mine is off till my house is sold

So with that said i have purchased this game cause i have seen the new mods and they deffinantly look better then that of anything on Oblivion

how ever i have run into several issues since my purchase of the game and First Install :

first issue is ... My game is a legitimate copy purchased at Wall mart and with genuin activation key within the steam community

however after first install and running of the game it worked for about 3 days no problems and no mods installed:

~now the game won't run~ steam says (ERROR) INVALID GAME KEY..............eRR wtf???

SO I BROUHT MY PC DOWN TO WORK AND REINSTALLED SKYRIM....now it wont update on Steam past 1.3 however i am again able to play it again but being i am at work i can't play here so i'll hafta go home and try it out again