Need Advice in making a patch for Sexlab Sex Slaves

I am trying to make a small update to scripts for Sex Slaves (AKA, Mia's Lair), but I am completely new to editing scripts (and scripting in general), so I am in need of some advice on how to proceed. First off, I did ask the original modder for permission to make changes. It was quite a while ago, but he made it clear that he had no problem with people modifying the mod. :3

Second, I guess I'll summarize the changes I want to make.

1. I want to remove the gender lock on new slave training. In the original mod, only male player-characters can start training a new slave. Female players can train existing or purchased slaves, but only a male can bring a female follower to the dungeon and turn them into a Sex Slave. This seems like a pretty arbitrary restriction, so it ought to be a fairly straightforward fix if I can find the right thing to change!
  2. I want to allow the mod to choose from a wider variety of animations. In the original, there are many events which call for a very specific animation, instead of choosing from a full list of appropriate animations. For example, when a sex slave is ordered to go go down on a female PC they will only ever use the old Arrok Lesbian animation, or a male PC will only get the AP Kneeling Blowjob. Even if you have dozens more animations of the same type installed. This is an important thing to update, because there is a game-breaking glitch which might force you to reload your last save if you happen to not have the specific animation it wants.
  3. I want the mod to look for the Sexlab-designated gender when determining which animations to use. Currently, there is no love in Sex Slaves for dickgirl PCs. If a domme dickgirl wants her cock sucked, she's out of luck. This is a grotesque injustice, and it shall not stand!