Fallout New Vegas GECK & Scripting Help 101

Now I got your attention, I know if you are even attempting scripting you aren't really a dummy. It's a matter of experience, if you've done any programming in any language you will pick it up quicker obviously, but in the end computers just do exactly what we tell them too they aren't smarter than people, they can just juggle numbers faster.

I'm not a professional programmer, I'm no expert at GECK, but I've poked with it for a few years of pain, so I've created this thread so some of us with a little more experience can share some gems and basic foundations for when writing your first scripts. Or just doing what many of us did when starting, pulling appart or modifing someone elses scripts.

There are different formats for things so what I do is not necessarily the way PrideSlayer or Zippy or Astymma would code something there's often more than one right way to do things and of course an infinate number of wrong ways :)

Look in the GECK Wiki at http://geck.bethsoft.com/index.php/Main_Page

Also read this thread too http://www.loverslab.com/showthread.php?tid=8808

So firstly if you other experienced guys can hopefully placemark a post each at the top of this thread so as we all think of things we can just edit the upper posts and save people wading through pages of discussion.

Secondly I'd like to ask the new people to refrain posting questions in this thread unless they are specific technical questions related to GECK usage not "my game is broken" posts and really have looked for answers or at least read the first and last pages of this thread, this is an answers/instructional thread.

Firstly install the latest beta of NVSE, it also gives you extra debug commands: