Are JRPG's Dead?

Presto

(wall of text, sorry it can't be helped)

I've always been a huge fan of RPG's since I very first started gaming. I think the first one I stumbled onto was the text game Zork on a friends old IBM computer. Eventually as games progressed I got obsessed with the 80-150 hour time sinks that were JRPG's. From Final Fantasy, to Tales of "...", and every Xeno game they were all I ever wanted to play. As games advanced though I started playing games like Morrowind and Baldur's Gate and slowly but surely I started playing JRPG's less and less. It wasn't that I didn't want to give the games a try, just that the genre in general did little to update and keep up with the times.

I attribute the decline to Final Fantasy, once the pinnacle of RPG's across the board, is now a disappointing former shell of what it once was. I just downloaded and tried the demo for the upcoming FFXIII-2 and I was left both annoyed with the mechanics and let down with the freedom to play how I want. Just like FFXIII before it, the battle system is confusing and labored just for the sake of being different. It appears that every JRPG nowadays needs to come up with some random battle system that is different in an attempt to garner some interest but usually ends up being confusing and tedious as a result. Where as in the past the world and the story were the driving factors to play through a game, now the focus has shifted to battles and if you aren't on board with the unique battle system from the start the chances are that likely you'll never be.