Detailed HDT hair physics tutorials?

DIYDeath

Hi all, I'm here to request something fairly practical:

Tutorials or a step-by-step guide on modifying existing hairs (already have a esm, meshes and so forth) to use the HDT plugin.

I am a noob at 3dsmax, I won't lie but I do catch on quickly and have some basic modding knowledge from my wc3 modding days so I need people to use small words with as few syllables as possible. :P

I know Canderer has some tutorials but they're tutorials for advanced users who know what the hell he's doing to begin with. I'm not one of those people so I find his tutorials frustrating, I need to see where he's clicking, what he's starting up and what options are being used. The moment he uses a shortcut I feel like screaming at the monitor in hopes that he'll stop and show me the long way before using the shortcuts again.

I'm not asking for anyone to do the work for me, I need to learn this. What I'm asking for is a guide to help me accomplish this specific task:

Take a mod called "my type of hair" and edit a hair style in the mod to use the HDT plugin.

If that works I'll be looking into ways to add collision to the quiver and potentially cloak to minimize clipping (I mention this because I need to get a gauge for how difficult this process will be and if its something within my grasp, I fully intend to take baby steps 1st).

Please help a noob become competent, I'm lost without help, utterly lost...

Well, hello. First of all, managing yourself with max (and also niftools) is a task that you will accomplish with time, but you can find basic tutorials online, and also bundled with 3ds. This should give you the know-how needed to at least be able to follow Candere's tutorials.

That said, I've been tampering with HDT hair for some days now, and I'm considering the creation of a step by step written tutorial for the process as soon as I get some definitive results.