Struggling with descriptor files

Sorry if this has been covered in the past, but I'm brand new to modding Stellaris from LL. I've installed from the steam workshop successfully several times, but I'm struggling to do it from here.

My main problem is:

image.png.3c0470359609705a260f9405bd53c7ee.png

I have tried playing around with where certain files should be, but my main issue seems to be that a lot of the mods from here don't have a "descriptor.mod" file. For the few mods I downloaded from here that do, it seems like they all work fine, which is why I have come to this conclusion.

From looking around, it seems like I need to edit the "[modname].mod" file to change where it is looking for the rest of the mod stuff, however I can only seem to open these ".mod" files in VLC media player, which doesn't give me any text or code to edit.

Any help would be gratefully appreciated and if anyone wants more detailed details, I can gladly provide them. Thanks again :))))

3 hours ago, aBiscuit said:

Sorry if this has been covered in the past, but I'm brand new to modding Stellaris from LL. I've installed from the steam workshop successfully several times, but I'm struggling to do it from here.

My main problem is:

image.png.3c0470359609705a260f9405bd53c7ee.png

I have tried playing around with where certain files should be, but my main issue seems to be that a lot of the mods from here don't have a "descriptor.mod" file. For the few mods I downloaded from here that do, it seems like they all work fine, which is why I have come to this conclusion.

From looking around, it seems like I need to edit the "[modname].mod" file to change where it is looking for the rest of the mod stuff, however I can only seem to open these ".mod" files in VLC media player, which doesn't give me any text or code to edit.

Any help would be gratefully appreciated and if anyone wants more detailed details, I can gladly provide them. Thanks again :))))