Blender armor conversion (the easy way) without 2.49b, a few notes on using Blender for Skyrim

~magic~

I am not an expert at using Blender with Skyrim. I am, however, an experienced Blender user from my own game development and started using it a few weeks ago to convert armor from UNP to Dream Girl. I have noticed an odd and unnecessary obsession among Skyrim modders with blender 2.49b.

I noticed that the guides on the internet look something like this:

1 - open NIFskope

2 - change the file header

3 - summon the goddess Freya and give up your soul to learn kung fu

4 - solve the time-dependent schrodinger equation for energy

...183 - open blender 2.49b

184 - import nif

...3,481 - repeat steps 683-1,486

3,483 - change the file headers

3,484 - cure cancer

I have been using a much simpler and easier method completely independent of Blender 2.49b that I think people should know if they do not already. I use this method regularly to convert armors using only NIFskope and any version of Blender, e.g 2.72. Perhaps there is another tutorial that uses this same method but I figured it out on my own so I don't know.

This method only works if you do not add vertices or need to change the weight painting (e.g for making a non-tbbp mesh tbbp), which will require use of blender 2.49b as an importer/exporter and all of the tedious shit that results

1 - NIFSkope: Open the model you want to convert, both the _1 and the _0 files. Click the nitrishape of the mesh (not the body, if any), export as .obj.

2 - NIFSkope: Export both the destination body's _1 and _0 meshes as .obj.

3 - Blender 2.7+: Import destination body and one of the mesh files from the .obj files.

4 - Blender 2.7+: Use Blender 2.7+'s awesome tools to fit the mesh how you want. Repeat 3-4 for both _0 and _1 meshes.