Messing around with GECK. Help!

kermit24

Yesterday i decided to start modding with GECK and i'm a total beginner in modding, so forgive me potential stupidness :D

What i tried was to change some of the withdrawal effects which jet, mentats etc. cause, so far, so good.

I wanted to make the effects far more harming, as example: Mentats crippling the head and jet crippling the legs + some healthdamage.

First everything worked like i imagined, but when i tried to set the magnitude for head-/leg-damage to a higher value than 1, then the effect remains on 1 head-damage instead of crippling it or seriously

injuring it.

The healthdamage doesn't even occur.

My approach was to edit the existing withdrawal effects by adding the mentioned effects to them. I tried varying durations and conditions (copied from similar effects) for the added effects, but nothing worked for me.

So i ask for some advice, if anyone has a clue what i'm doing wrong :D

Ths might have something to do with the flags on base effects. Flags like 'no duration' or 'no magnitude' on base effects mean exactly that, and 'reduce' effects aren't the same as 'damage' effects. Base effects that aren't flagged as 'self' will also probably not work.

Other than that, there's not much to go on for more concrete advice. A few screenies might help.

Ths might have something to do with the flags on base effects. Flags like 'no duration' or 'no magnitude' on base effects mean exactly that, and 'reduce' effects aren't the same as 'damage' effects. Base effects that aren't flagged as 'self' will also probably not work.

Other than that, there's not much to go on for more concrete advice. A few screenies might help.

i checked the base effect and if i'm not mistaken, they seem right:

lg94J.jpg

then i added the effect to the mentats withdrawal effect

Iyx7Q.jpg

after that i tested it and it works so far

yC7Jc.jpg

s6uqc.jpg