Fallout 3 Armours in Fallout NV

Blackbryre

For quite a while I've been a BnB user, and overall I'd have to say my experience with the mod has be alright. After a Skyrim binge however, I came back here really craving more body options.

While updating my copy of Sexout, I somehow ended up in the Fallout 3 Nexus, and then found myself gazing longingly at the body mods and replacers like this: http://fallout3.nexusmods.com/mods/15849

As an armour modding/porting layman, I didn't think it was possible to use an armour set and body without doing a good deal of file juggling. I did however, find this: http://newvegas.nexusmods.com/mods/34987

I had originally read the mod author's explanation of his proof of concept written ages ago, and he claimed that it would allow for mesh/texture compatibility from F3 to FNV without anything but the usual install.

I downloaded his original file (the oldest one) and gave it a spin with the previously linked armour/body pack, and it works! (For vanilla races at least. The textures don't align right for the custom races I've tried.) Some armours are converted correctly, like the Vault suit, and with BnB installed, there's full use of the bouncing. I haven't played around much with this, so my knowledge of issues is nil atm.

If this was already known, or there was an easier way to do this, then I'll feel pretty silly. I just thought I'd share what I found :)

EDIT: Apparently no mods are needed to use FO3 texture/mesh replacers. However adding armour would likely require a mod like the second one listed. I feel rather silly about this thread now...

Don't feel silly. It is known by experienced modders that meshes and textures can be swapped from FO3 to FNV without any modifications. The only change you need to make to get custom armors is add them via an esp file. As you said, replacer meshes/textures will work without an esp just fine.

Cheers,

Greg