The 3ds Max help thread

Suludi

Hi everybody,

seeing as there are several people like myself fumbling around with 3ds Max, I hope I'm allowed to start this thread. I'm completely new to 3dsM, and the program is seriously freaking me out. So maybe someone knows what I'm doing... even when I don't. ^^

I have the student Version of 3ds Max 2012, so maybe the features I'm missing aren't even implemented. But I can't even find THAT information.

I can't store, mirror or load poses. The movie menu doesn't offer the option, it's simply not there. Not even greyed out. I'm working on Skyrim werewolves and humans, but no biped options are available, and I don't want to screw up the skeleton or animation files, so I'm not changing basic stuff.

When I import an animation from skyrim, it screws up any animation I've already created in that file, even if I just tell it to start later in the timeline.

When I create a new animation from scratch, there is NO option to add a note track later. I've searched and researched like mad but no matter which solution I find online, there simply IS NO OPTION to add the damned notes. Meaning I have to import an existing Skyrim animation, delete everything, deal with the screwed up pose, animate my own stuff over it, rename the notes and then find out that the animation gets totally mutilated in the game.

Help please? :(

Hi everybody,

seeing as there are several people like myself fumbling around with 3ds Max, I hope I'm allowed to start this thread. I'm completely new to 3dsM, and the program is seriously freaking me out. So maybe someone knows what I'm doing... even when I don't. ^^

I have the student Version of 3ds Max 2012, so maybe the features I'm missing aren't even implemented. But I can't even find THAT information.