[WIP] Shield that thinks it's a Sword, Silly Shield~

So currently i am working on a mod that allows you to use a shield like you would a sword but also have that blocking ability and maybe the bash capability of a shield, blocking part is more important atm.

My reason is because i want to make a character who uses magic in 1 hand and shield in the other and thats it, but i still want that melee capability without having to use a real weapon or soulbound.

Now i searched and could not find anything like what i am asking for so i decided i will just try and make it. But i am fairly new to modding so if anyone has some advice as to how to accomplish it, would be appreciated 

-Tried to just use vanilla meshes of a shield and replace it with a sword but the visuals didn't work

-Now going to make my own custom shield instead 

-Need Advice on how i could make it Act like a sword though ( any method you have )

Guest kimbale

I always wanted to make a big male nord or ork who fights with two shields, bashing and ramming his enemies around. Would your mod be like a off-hand shield that could be used independently? You'd have my full support then. :D

Guest kimbale

I'd really love this - i wanted this since vanilla release tbh.

One possible issue popped into my mind: If you use the vanilla shields (which would be great and save work) you'll have to realign them to the skeleton to fit on the "wrong" hand and not look wonky with the sword animations. If you make your own, you'd do that when making it equippable. I'd try other animation sets too, i think the mace animations could fit.

It's possible to create such a weapon by editing an existing shield in CK, and then turning it into a melee weapon.

Would you care to elaborate on that?

I tried to make one by editing it, but either the visuals wouldn't work or the attack animations would not work.

tried to just alter a vanilla shield as a replacer and also tried making a duplicate and editing that same result though