What should I learn to prepare to mod Starfield?

Hi everyone!

I am not new here, but this is my first time posting. I have been playing Skyrim using mods including the mods on this site for maybe 5 years. I am currently playing Starfield and loving it! I have recently had a lot more time open up, and I would like to contribute to the community.

We have maybe 3-6 months before the creation kit is released for Starfield, and I would like to prepare now. Assuming let’s say I start from basically zero knowledge, what things would you suggest I practice and study to be best ready to help create mods when the time comes?

Thanks!

Edited by Zarkinator
  • Zarkinator changed the title to What should I learn to prepare to mod Starfield?

Really I think that depends on what kind of mods you want to create.

For example, there's no point in learning scripting if you're going to create armor mods; but if you're looking to create quest mods then you can probably skip learning to make meshes and textures and you'd want to learn scripting.

No matter what, you'll probably be using XEdit at some point, and I heard Elminster was already at work on creating a version for Starfield.  Some very simple mods can be created using just that.

Thank you for your reply! I am not a very good artist, so more likely I would be creating quest and feature mods I think. 

If I were to spend time learning to mod Skyrim, would a lot of that knowledge transfer over based on what we know about how Starfield was programmed? I appreciate any help from you all in helping me have a direction to go!