Where to start? (There's so much!)

TL;DR

Im having trouble finding where to start with nsfw modding. What dos SLAL do and how would I use those animations? Recommended "starter vanilla" mods to serve as a bare-bones outline so I can branch out?

A little backstory:

I'm quite new to LL, and the NSFW modding scene in general. I'm not a complete noob when it comes to downloading mods... but I'm not that experienced either. 

I've compiled my list of sfw mods that give me an all around polished feel, for me at least, and dabbled with Osex and Flower Girls. But they left a lot to be desired. Which brings me to LL. 

(Also I'm doing all of this on the Steam Deck which is surprisingly good at running all of this)

Now onto my main issue:

There's so much! 

Apart from SexLab and its core dependencies... that's as far as I've gotten. 

The overwhelming amount of mods, coupled with their own dependencies, with some dependencies having OTHER dependencies, with some of these being strewn across a myriad of SE/AE/LE versions, is kind of overwhelming. 

Modding on the Steam Deck is difficult/different, at least for me, and AFAIK it can only be done with Vortex, which I think is less preferred than MO2?

I have the base requirements, including SOS, but I just don't know which mod to start with. Plus I'm scared I'm going to uber-fuck my game up with my inexperienced fingers. 

Is there a list of recommended starter mods that I can safely install and test around with to get a feeling for SLAL and such and help me branch out to other SexLab mods?

I've been browsing LL for a few hours now and with each "Mod Index" and "FAQ" I open up, I just get more confused. xD

Any and all help is appreciated. I apologize if I completely missed a thread that answers all my questions. 

(Also what is SLAL exactly? I understand that it loads animations into the game, and SexLab kinda let's it do that??? But how does the sex part happen. Lmao. Is it like GUI-esq like OSex?)