How many FPS can humans perceive? Turns out we knew the answer 30 years ago

Don't like reading? Scroll to the end for the TLDR conclusion, but you'll miss all the steps and reasons.

I started gaming in the 80s, so i've seen the whole dev history of computer displays: From monocolor greenscreens to today. The only two display-types i have no personal experience with are oldschool arcade vector-displays and current prototype holoscreens. I very early on started to appreciate motion and smoothness over detail and fidelity. In other words: I care less about realism and more about "being in the zone" and there being no distracting artifacts. So basically i'm the perfect target audience for high refreshrate displays (and antialiasing, but that's another story).

Here's something most of you are prolly too young to know: Back in the 90s gamers were happy with 25 FPS, but they ran 75hz displays or even 90hz if they were chads. Why? Flicker. Screens back then weren't TFTs but instead beam-based. In simple terms, the monitor would flash a picture every n millisecs. In-between those flashes (the "vertical blank"), the screen was black. So it was literal "flicker-tech": The higher the screen refreshrate, the faster the flicker. It turned out 60hz gave people headaches, 75hz was "okay", and 90hz was "comfortable" enough to make the flicker unperceivable.

Now flicker isn't the same as motion, just like refreshrates aren't the same as FPS. But here's a question nobody asked back then, and still hasn't asked today: If 90-100hz is the human limit for detecting flicker, then detecting motion should be lower or equal to that number? If this doesn't sound intuitive and obvious to you, lemme rephrase the question: Can humans perceive local motion faster than outright flicker of the entire field of view? No, that makes no sense. So 90-100hz is the theoretical upper bound, and the only question is: How much lower is the practical limit for motion detection?