WW won't create sim pairs or groups when lots of Sims are on the lot

I started playing Sims 4 after a 6 month break.  I updated my game to the latest version 1.96 and updated my mods.  WW v177.2.  I'm not using any WW related mods other than animations and required objects.  I am using MCCC.

Autonomy works fine with joining but WW won't create new sim pairs or groups (none).  I can create pairs/groups manually without issue.  If I kick most of the Sims off the lot it then works.  I've typically had up to 130 Sims on my lot at the same time with all of them doing WW sex.  I double checked all of my settings and can't find the issue.  I noticed some new settings but they don't seem like they would interfere.

I've done all the usual stuff such as deleting the old version of WW and replacing it with the new version.  Deleting localthumbcache.package and log files.  None of my script mods are more then one folder deep.  All aspects of WW work normally except for autonomously creating Sims pairs/groups when more than a few dozen Sims are on the lot.  I've run the ww.fix command at least four times recently.

I'm very experienced with Sims 4 and WW and have used both since release.  I'm scratching my head on this one.

Edited by SkyBarbie
Updated with additional info
31 minutes ago, SkyBarbie said:

I started playing Sims 4 after a 6 month break.

From what follows this little statement in your post, I'd say this might actually be the problem - or rather: the fact that the game changed something important which you might not have noticed.