Downloading the separate files + folder question

Hi everyone, I'm not new to Sims but I am very new to modding sims and I'm confused how some of these downloads work. For example, I have downloaded all of Azmodan22's animations, but when I open a given zip folder it shows a list of numbered files plus a folder titled "mods." I was told that the sims only looks one file deep for mods, so what's the point of that folder? 

Additionally, when I drop the folders into the mods folder, would it work if I extracted all of the files from each animation and throw it in a folder titled "Azmodan22," or should I keep each folder intact in the mods folder? 

10 hours ago, SovereignCervine said:

Hi everyone, I'm not new to Sims but I am very new to modding sims and I'm confused how some of these downloads work. For example, I have downloaded all of Azmodan22's animations, but when I open a given zip folder it shows a list of numbered files plus a folder titled "mods." I was told that the sims only looks one file deep for mods, so what's the point of that folder? 

Additionally, when I drop the folders into the mods folder, would it work if I extracted all of the files from each animation and throw it in a folder titled "Azmodan22," or should I keep each folder intact in the mods folder? 

Compressed files downloaded often look like a folder but they really aren't an actual folder.

Although maybe you could consider it a compressed folder. 

Animations that are compressed as .zip, .rar, .7zip need to be extracted before installing into game.

I have different extraction utilities for each type of file as some types are cranky and only work with the right one.

Win-RAR, IZArc, 7-Zip are the most popular types used.

Once installed just right click on compressed file and select which one to extract with.

Some animation files are .package so all you need to do is drop them into Mods.