Attractiveness (and a fistful of other questions)

First off, let me preface this by saying thanks in advance for your patience. No doubt this will be kind of lengthy to get through.

To start; I've decided to change up my Wicked Whims game a bit (when I say a bit...I mean a LOT). Just today I decided to play with the WW settings at their Default values. When I first installed WW I don't know how long ago, I was basically a kid in a candy store and the settings that I had (and still currently used up until today) were extremely open. Anything goes kind of thing. I had the Attractiveness settings completely turned off because the settings were a little over my head. I have a lot more experience with the mod now but the Attractiveness function is still pretty new to me.

1) I have a Master file that I use to start up any new playthroughs with. It's currently populated with over 200 Sims that I created myself (yeah, too many hours of CAS on my hands). These Sims have never had Attractiveness values ever generated for them. I have the settings set to Moderate at the moment. Will they be automatically generated for them or is there something that I have to do first? I was under the initial impression that random values were only generated for new Sims but I'm probably mistaken about that. One thing that I've noticed so far is there is very little variance in the Archetypes that I've been seeing so far.

2) I've noticed something weird when I ask Sims about their preferences. For instance: when I ask one particular Sim about her preference she'll say she likes Brown Hair. But when I follow up to find more information about other preferences, she'll then say she likes Blond hair. Does that mean that she likes both or is there something wacky going on in my game? Or is she just being fickle?