Share your recommended modlist! All pointers and tips welcome!

IronPrimarch

First things first:

I am a colossal modding noob.

Just figured I'd get that out of the way first.

Also, tl;dr found at bottom.

It's been this insanely long grind to turn my eight year old office desktop into a rig capable of throwing its weight around among my 675+ Steam game library, but it's finally over. My ultimate goal eight years ago was to mod Minecraft (haha, how simple I was), which I did to varying degrees of success, ultimately stymied by weak PC components. So through the grind for better parts, I modded other games. Saint's Row 3, then IV, Dragon Age: Origins, Witcher 2, really anything that could benefit from mods. I'd download the files, painstakingly extract them to where they'd go, stay small to minimize complications, and away I'd go. I was small-time, and from afar I marvelled and envied the script wizards who seemed to mold the very Matrix to their whim.

But all of that changed when the Fire Nation attacked.

Skyrim's release was on my wedding day, and it killed me that for an entire honeymoon, I was in the pines in the northern part of my state and not in Tamriel. One of my kinder friends donated the game on Steam after about a year, and I diddled about with an amazing game and ultimately left much of it undone (both vanilla and modding). I was desperate to mod, but the complexity of manual installs was terrifying, so I barely tried. And so Skyrim sat in my library, barely played, a someday project for the future.

That someday is now. I've lurked in this community for perhaps three years, barely saying anything as I have nothing of value to contribute, and for the last three days I've agonized over the choice to post a topic asking for help from you, my figurative idols in the Skyrim modding community. I come to you guys in humility and awe, with nothing to offer but my wit and my ability to learn quickly.

To business.