New/Used DSLR Purchase.

Ricocotech

Hey guys, I'm in the market for a new DSLR to replace my old backup Nikon D90. Not sure how many of you guys are into

photography, but here I go.

The two options for me are either a new Nikon D7000 for $545 (Tax included) or a used Canon 7D for $505.

Reasons for Canon

1) Superior Video Functions

2) Magic Lantern

3) 8FPS Cont. Drive 

4) 19 Cross Type Auto Focus Points

Reasons for Nikon

1) Better Low Light Performance (0.5 f-stops)

2) Brand New

3) Slightly Larger Sensor ( ties with reason #1 )

4) Auto Focus for Video

5) Better Image Quality

In terms of actual usage, I am mainly a street/candid and portrait photographer. For video, I mainly record montages, similar

to what Philip Bloom does. I like the Canon because of the options I get when it comes to making video especially when paired with Magic Lantern. The speed of the drive and focus of the Canon is also great when I go out on the streets to capture that moment at short notice. I like the Nikon because in terms of image quality it does edge out on the Canon, however there is also photoshop to bring the Canon toe to toe with the Nikon. Then there is low light performance. This is a crucial point since I shoot indoors and at night. The last thing that's crucial is the fact that I'm stuck with either buying a new camera vs a used one. I have never bought used gear and I'm a bit frightened as to what I may end up with. I am ordering from Adorama so that eases the pain a bit. 

If anyone could give some input, I would really appreciate it.

Looking at the specs of those cameras, I would probably choose nikon. Then again I have Pentax K100D (~10 years old or something) myself and would avoid canon as long as possible so theres that. :P That aside if it is your backup camera and you are mostly doing videos with it, why not buy a video camera thingy? I'd guess you can take still pictures with those as well, with superior video capabilities?