Don't understand NiSkinData

Hi. I'm still really new to modding - especially making my own. I've been trying to get a backpack I made work & have narrowed the issue down to something in the NiSkinData of the nif. Problem is I don't know what. I'd describe what's going on, but I have no clue how to even go about that. So, instead, I'll just upload my nif to here: backpack_1.nif

This thing has me utterly baffled & confused... I managed to get the display model for the menu to work (tested in game), but I can't seem to get the on character model to work. Please help!

Software I used to create the mesh is Cinema 4D Broadcast R15. I don't do good with any other modeling software as I'm not good with math. If I have to use something else please give *simple* instructions. Very, very simple instructions~ :3

NOTE: I got the nif from a different backpack mod. Specifically this: http://www.nexusmods.com/skyrim/mods/30986/?

The problem with the NifTools site is it's sevrely out of date. Also, when I went to install the plugin for 3ds Max, it only went up to 3ds Max 2009 & didn't even have Skyrim in its "create custom directories" list. Will it still work despite not having the option for Skyrim? Do I also have to get 3ds Max 2009 or earlier just to get the plugin working?

EDIT: I found these:

http://www.nexusmods.com/skyrim/mods/40209/?

http://www.nexusmods.com/skyrim/mods/5622/?

Would the tutorial still apply to those versions of the plugin?