Why do overlays only work sometimes?

So I've noticed that wildguys' vagina overlays will work on some skins but not others. I'm still learning about CC and such, but I cannot for the life of me figure out why it works on some and not all.
They're not taking the same slot (both options are active), so dont' think it's that.

Anyone able to suggest a reason? This is just for my own knowledge, just trying to learn.

21 minutes ago, capitansquid said:

So I've noticed that wildguys' vagina overlays will work on some skins but not others. I'm still learning about CC and such, but I cannot for the life of me figure out why it works on some and not all.
They're not taking the same slot (both options are active), so dont' think it's that.

Anyone able to suggest a reason? This is just for my own knowledge, just trying to learn.

When you talk about "skins" , do you mean the skintones you can choose or skin overlays too ?

It happens in the case of skin overlays that they are sometimes over some body details or tattoos .

I'm an idiot.... *sigh*.... Wasn't paying attention and I mixed up the overlays with the photorealistic skins. (I don't know actual names. The "skins" look like actual photos mapped over the characters, full color. The overlays are the ghost-like, gray toned images that overlay the preset skintones).

I just answered my own question. The full color skins cover the whole body. So it seems to prevent things like tatoos and vaginas (though not nipples and pubes).

If I'm not wrong it's related to Composition Method the full colour CC skins use vs the ones for other skin details.

Full color skins, (some) nipples and hair 'tattoos' have Composition Method set to 0 so they can show up in game okay on the very top layer of everything, while the details types of overlays (like Wild Guy's Dimples of Venus or like wrinkles, cleavages, etc) have Composition Method set to 3, so they can blend well with skintones (from Sims 4 itself) or default replacement skintones.