Just trying to edit a preexisting script

Complete newb here. Not trying to make a mod from scratch or anything fancy. Just trying to start with an existing mod, load it up in whatever, make some tiny changes to the script, save the results, and have the changes actually be implemented.

Far as I can tell, I got everything but the last part working.

With FOMM's built-in TESSnip, I can at least LOOK at the scripts and use that info as a guide. I've tried messing with GECK. It seems needlessly confusing. I did finally, with the use of GECK Powerup fork 1.4, get it to a point where it was willing to save edits, but it seemed to want to save the edits as a new file. I chalked this up to its famous inability to edit .esm files. Whatever. FNVEdit didn't give me any grief. It didn't produce the script in its nicely-organized format (it was all in one line), but I was still able to make changes and save those changes.

Problem is it seems my changes are ignored, and I have to figure this may have something to do with the "compiled script" line above the raw script line. I suspect that FNVEdit is not applying the changes to the parts of the .esm that actually get accessed in the mod itself - like the raw script is there for no particular reason, and edits to it make no difference at all. And there is where my capacity for figuring this out by myself ends.

What editor might I use to, quite simply, load a specific script in a specific mod, make a tiny edit or two, save the results, and have it count?

The raw script is only there so when you load it in the GECK you have something to edit. The compiled script is what the game actually uses' date=' and to edit that you need the GECK.

[/quote']Alright. So I guess what I probably need instead is a quick step-by-step for getting my tiny edits done in GECK. What I've been doing so far goes like this:

1) Load Master/Plugin files.

2) Uncheck everything.

3) Check the lone .esm that I want to edit.