[CKII] A little DW:R hack - Customisable Portraits for Children (announcement)

vienastoks

Hello, everybody,

I've always been a bit sad Paradox chose to make all CKII kids indistinguishable from one another, but I've learned to live with it. If, however, one has installed some mods that introduce monster, furry or any other outlandish ethnicities, the pain of seeing your brood as 'default' children becomes nearly unbearable. I hoped ReMeDy mod would remedy (sorry) this, but ReMeDy (and the version used by DW:Reborn) can only add custom static portraits to adults.

Now it so happens that I started playing as a Neko lady for entirely different mod project and got really p***ed at seeing my sweet children as stock lombard issue. So I spent an afternoon hacking and came away with this:

post-2182272-0-12099300-1506638217_thumb.png

Cheesy names aside, I think this is quite an improvement. :)

If there's any interest I may polish my hack a bit and post it as a submod tomorrow or the day after.

What CPS ("Children Portraits - Static") does:

- Lets you right-click on any portrait and use a targeted decision to drop default static portrait (revealing a dynamic adult one instead).

- Once you've got an adult one revealed, you can add any custom portrait from DW:R collection (or your own creation) by simply typing in the console "add_trait portrait_number character_id".

Admittedly, this takes some DIY, so it's not for everybody. The interface for choosing static portrait replacement does not exist in CKII, so we can either use the console or assign random portrait (as DW:R does for felines, canines, etc.).