Getting HDT to work on an armor piece

Selimortsi

So I downloaded Shredded Triss Armor yesterday because I liked the modular approach more than the all-in-one I'd been using previously. I got it running and really enjoy it, however I noticed that even though I downloaded the included optional CBBE+BBP conversion there's no physics on the butt (works with just about everything else though, was one of my favorite things about the original Triss armor). Everywhere else seems to be fine so I figure it's a problem with the shorts mesh. I ran it through Outfit Studio and BodySlide (everything looked good to me, but I'm pretty new to using them. EDIT: just for clarity I used the optional bodyslide files on the mod page) but all that accomplished was the shorts became far too large and took on a strange texture, however they did get HDT physics (Pic for reference, I *think* it's the normal map showing for whatever reason, maybe just because they became too big.) post-355725-0-11255100-1428283284_thumb.jpg

What I want to know is, how can I get the HDT to apply properly to the shorts without messing everything up? I did what I thought was correct and it only half-worked. If someone could point me in the right direction for this, or better yet if you're experienced with OS/BS/HDT and can run through the shorts really quick to properly fix them and send me the file, I'd appreciate it very much. Thanks :)