Help with the translation and modding of games in general

Emma123

Hello dear forum :) , 

I have been playing with the idea of starting to translate mods for quite some time now. I am a professional translator and have lots of experience with scientific, political and expressive texts and would love to eventually get to the point where localisation might actually become a realistic option for me. I am not entirely unfamiliar with installing mods. But the rest is rather alien to me.  (to this date my greatest pride remains getting skyrim to run with 80+ mods, albeit only with "qasmoke").

I never really looked into programming when I was younger and now I am at quite a loss as to where to begin because it just seems like such a vast field. I would like to learn what is needed to translate mods and even make them.

Not just on a level where I learn how to use certain programs (although they're always appreciated) but where I can really start with the most basic things to know in programming. Just a pointer where to start would be greatly appreciated. 

Once I'll (hopefully) have the hang of it I could also take on a couple of mods or help some of the German translators out, if needed. 

Thanks a lot in advance. 
Happy gaming :heart: , 
Emma

I never really looked into programming when I was younger and now I am at quite a loss as to where to begin because it just seems like such a vast field. I would like to learn what is needed to translate mods and even make them.

Not just on a level where I learn how to use certain programs (although they're always appreciated) but where I can really start with the most basic things to know in programming. Just a pointer where to start would be greatly appreciated. 

Hiya!

One of the best ways is to pick a mod you like and pull it apart.

Download Notepad++(standard tool for editing, esp XMLS) and look at any txt or XMLS.

Often you'll find translations under data\interface\translations.