Papyrus question

wref48

Hi,

I've heard that people around here might know a thing or two about papyrus.

I have no experience in coding and while it was interesting to understand the logic behind the ready made scripts I mostly find it quite frustrating to make my own.

So here's what I want to do:

I have a lever that activates a steam jet. I want it to not activate the jet unless a valve is turned.

I used the "lights" script to activate the steam jet and below is how I tried to make it check for the valve status. But as far as I understood Enable/Disable is about showing/hiding the object rather if it is "active". So this is what I managed to do so far, but the SteamValve.Activate part doesn't seem to have any effect.

ScriptName ActivateSteam1 extends ObjectReference

ObjectReference Property EnableMarker auto

ObjectReference Property SteamValve auto

Event OnInit()

If (EnableMarker.IsDisabled())
		GoToState("LightsOff")
	Else
		GoToState("LightsOn")
	EndIf

EndEvent

State LightsOff

Event OnBeginState()
		EnableMarker.Disable()
	EndEvent

Event OnActivate(ObjectReference akActionRef)
		GoToState("Lights")
	EndEvent

EndState

State Lights

Event OnBeginState()
		 If (SteamValve.Activate(Game.GetPlayer()))
		GoToState("LightsOn")
	Else
		GoToState("Lightsoff")
	EndIf
	EndEvent

EndState

State LightsOn

Event OnBeginState()
		EnableMarker.Enable()
	EndEvent

GoToState("LightsOff")
	EndEvent

EndState

And If you made it this far, I have something else I want to do, but don't have a remote idea how to make it work.

I want to disable the animation on a dweller cog by default and enable it with a lever activation.

Thanks in advance.

Hi.

May I advise to change a little the title of your post?

Steam... Valve...

People will get confused.

Change it to:

"Activate/Deactivate a gas stream with a lever only when its valve is turned on"

Hi,

I've heard that people around here might know a thing or two about papyrus.