Skyrim on Ultra not very Ultra.

Tessina

I set Skyrim on max settings on everything, but while it is beautiful it also doesn't look right.

The biggest letdown are Shadows being blocky and unrealistic, and so many textures are blurry or very low rez, it is a mix of some things are high rez and other items not even close and it varies.. some armors are high rez others very low rez.. rocks, books, etc.  

I have the High Rez DLC and the unofficial High Rez patch. I have tried it with Mod Organizer managing them and without to no effect.  I've also tried to let NIVIDA GeForce Experience take a crack at it and no avail.   

Intel i7-4771 3.50GHz

8GB Ram

NVIDIA GeForce GTX 650

I am not good with manually modifying things and took me a little bit to get SKSE, Uncapper, and FNIS working.

Is ENB the only way to make it look good?  I glanced at  it and think I fried my brain trying to figure out how to install it.. or which to choose.

For texture quality, there are TONS of packs available as mods, I definitely recommend aMidianBorn's armors and weapons. they made other stuff too, but these are the two I use from them. Then there's W.A.T.E.R, XCE Character Enhancement, body packs, you name it!

Also, do yourself a favor and get Static Mesh Improvement Mod. it fixes a TON of objects looking wrong, and doesn't affect performance that much.

Now, the lighting part... you're stuck with ENBs on that one. The vanilla lighting is HORRIBLE, and no amount of INI tweaks can correct it. It's like Beth WANTED their game to look bad even on high end systems.

installation is pretty simple though. get ENBseries from the ENB blog. install it in your skyrim folder. Get your chosen preset (example: Seasons of Skyrim ENB), copy it into the Skyrim folder, overwrite everything.