[Tutorial Request] making mods and where to begin?

Jappercut

Hey!

so i know that this might sound pretty noobish... but can anyone point me in the direction of various tutorials to help out a person, that is trying to learn how to make mods? i have zero to no experience with the geck so it would have to be from the very bottom and up.

i am just interested in getting into the basic stuff first, and then later on perhaps make some simple misc mods for sexout, if that isen't too pro for me :D

i know i should probably just search for it myself on google, but i would feel more comfortable investing time in something that an experienced user has approved off :)

Also i am open for all kinds of advice!  :D

What type of mods is the question, quest type, weapon / armor mods?

Probably best to start with finding someone elses similar mod and pulling it apart in GECK or even modding it to be what you want.

IMPORTANT RULE : before starting your first mod make a backup copy of your NV folder, because you will break your game completely at some point :)

Preface:  Get ready to sticky this, motherfuckers.

That is EXTREMELY n00bish of you...and that is okay.  ;)   Last September (give or take a month or two), I was a n00b.  Now I am...less of a n00b.  :D   You may address me as whatever a grasshopper++ is.

Don't know how much programming experience you have.  None is okay.  A large part of modding is fighting the interface, or that's how I feel anyway.  ;)   Scripting comes with time. 

Do what Hal said.  Take a mod you like/want to emulate some part of.  Open it in FNVEdit first to see what naming convention the author uses so that you don't waste your time trying to figure it out.  Open the GECK.  Look at how it works.