Texture layers

Atreyu

Why do texture maps have about 10 or 11 layers? I'm still new to texturing and am releasing a race mod soon on here, but I want to understand the texture layering so I can do it right. Each layer seems to have the texture have halved dimensions.

Ok' date=' how do I make them?

[/quote']

You don't "make" them in the strictest sense. When using Gimp or whatever texture program you are using, you need to save your file in a dds format (Dxt5 or Dxt1) and click the option to "generate" mipmaps, which it will do as it saves the file.

I don't have that option in gimp. I have to make it DXT5 in DXTbmp.

Edit: Nevermind. I check the first skin I worked on and it does have the mipmaps. I don't know how' date=' but I must be doing something right.

[/quote']

Do you have a really old version of Gimp or something?

Anyway if it is generating them then all is well.

I do have an old version of gimp. I'd rather use that version, because I can't find a compatible DDS plugin for the new one.

Edit: After learning about this stuff, I played around with an eye texture that I had planted the iris into an eye texture with less blood shot. Now I know how to save it as DXT5 AND generate mipmaps in gimp. This is a big step in my modding endeavors. Using dxtbmp to shrink everything was tedious and was taking too long.

Here's another question. Say I'm working on eyes' date=' and I want them to glow. How do I generate glow maps?

[/quote']

Basically you have two ways to go.

1. You can make glow map with grayscale & no alpha. None-black means that part will glow with some color. You can adjust their colors from NifSkope, just set NiMaterialProperty\Emissive color to your desired color. This way you can save a lot of disk space. You need just one glow map and it will be applied to every color map in the same folder with similar name.

e.g.

eyes_g.dds

eyes_n.dds will be applied to

eyes.dds

eyes_red.dds

eyes_blue.dds ..................... and so on.