Help on converting clothes/armor to GUTS body

kosukosu1

Hi I'm a total noob to Oblivion modding. I wanted to convert some clothes to the GUTS body (my new obsession). I'm trying to convert the stockings in Bisquit's real high heels mod to work with the GUTS lower body (the thicker legs).

I was able to save a NIF containing the existing stockings+heels mod along with the GUTS lower body mesh and skeleton, and imported it into Blender.

The GUTS legs are bigger than the stockings, so I think I need to adjust the mesh of the stockings to match the more thicker legs on the lower body.

Is the way to do this is to adjust the vertices of the stockings mesh to match the mesh of the legs? It looks like such a pain to adjust each vertex point by hand...am I going about this the right way??

Would appreciate any help :)

There are lots of different ways to handle clothing conversions.

Probably the best, if you're planning on converting many armors that were designed for a specific body style to another specific body style, would be to create a lattice.

Here's a tutorial to get you started

http://cs.elderscrolls.com/index.php/Blender/Adapting_Armor_to_Bodies_with_Lattices

The drawback with lattices is that each is generally specific for converting from a single body style to a single body style, so you might need a lattice for DMRA to GUTS and then another one for HGEC-C to GUTS, for example.

The other drawback is that, although they do much of the work for you, you still have to do a ton of cleaning for each item you convert.

I'm currently developing a Blender script (loosely based on my seam mender script) that will automatically snap selected vertices to within a specified distance of the nearest face of a target mesh. If I can work the kinks out, and it works the way I hope it will, it should handle a big chunk of the drudgery of clothing conversions.

I should have a beta version up for testing in a day or so.